The Legend of Stingy Jack and My Perfect Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin Seeds

The only really good part about getting all gooey and gross carving pumpkins are the seeds you can roast. However, over the years I have struggled to come up with the perfect recipe.  As we were carving pumpkins this year I thought, “why do we do this any way, who came up with such a yucky idea in the first place.” So of course I googled it. The Legend of Stingy Jack dates back for centuries in Irish culture. You can read about the legend here on History.com. Basically the legend says Stingy Jack made too many deals with the devil and when he died God would not allow him in Heaven, but the Devil didn’t want him either. So the Devil gave Jack a piece of burnt coal to light his way as he wandered in the dark. People in Ireland and Scotland started carving turnips, potatoes and beats, lighting them in their windows to keep Stingy Jack away. So now we all carve pumpkins and put them out for Halloween. I guess I have Stingy Jack to thank for this fun tradition.

Every year my kids look forward to carving pumpkins almost as much as they look forward to Christmas. I however don’t like the gross insides of a pumpkin and don’t enjoy it as much. My hubby and the kids get to do most the work.

IMG_1864 (3)

As you can see from this picture, each of my kids has a different reaction to the insides of a pumpkin. Everywhere from pure delight to the desire to throw-up shows up on my kids faces this special night. But their adorable pumpkins and their their Jack-O-Lantern make them so happy, it makes it all worth it.

My favorite part are the seeds. This year I tried a new recipe for roasting. RealSimple.com has one which used ground cumin. I had never used ground cumin to roast my seeds before so I thought I would give it a try. THESE ARE THE BEST WE HAVE EVER HAD! Simple, easy and so so good! They did have a bit of a kick in their flavor, but that is what made them very tasty. Usually the roasted pumpkin seeds are a bit bland and last along time around here, but these ones were gone in a few days. It almost makes me want to dig into a pumpkin again.

IMG_1872 (3)

Kellie Verified at 5 stars.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Craft projects, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

