How to Make a Gum Ball Machine Costume

My oldest was set on being a Gum Ball Machine for Halloween this year. We found a cute picture of one on Pinterest, on acasarella.net  and went from there. The picture we found used an apron instead of a skirt, but I couldn’t figure out what type of pants she should wear, so we made a skirt instead.

IMG_1890

We went to the local craft store and bought a white shirt, 1 yard of felt (I would have appreciated 1.5 yards) and cotton balls.

We followed acasarella.net on how to make the shirt. We used a plate to draw the circle for the cotton balls, practiced placing them in the circle to make sure they went were she wanted them. We then sprayed the circle on the shirt and replaced all the cotton balls. After all was said and done, she would have appreciated the cotton balls being placed a bit higher, but they were already glued on. We then sprayed the cotton balls, to make sure they stayed in place. Many of them fell off while trick or treating, but I’m not sure of a better way to glue on the cotton balls.IMG_1826 (7)  IMG_1823 (4)

We then found a pattern on Pinterest for a circle skirt, on danamadeit.com. I was very nervous to cut out the skirt, I’m not much of a sewer, despite my mothers teachings over the years. Here is how we did.

IMG_1783   IMG_1782  IMG_1780  Follow her directions, as I’m sure I cannot explain it well enough.  But I wasn’t really hard. I folded the material, measured her waist and length, did some crazy calculations she said to do and cut.  The skirt ended up being a bit short, So I took it to my neighbor who does sew quite well and she fixed it. We added a 2 inch waist band and a skirt was born.  My ever so kind neighbor also made a the hat, she said it was easier then she thought and found the directions on-line.

This costume was a bit hard, above my ability level and I spent more money then I wanted. But My Oldest had fun making it and wearing it. She was original and cute, I guess that is all the matters.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Craft projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Make a Gum Ball Machine Costume

  1. I loved your Gumball Costume!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

