Gluten Free Treats of the Week

3Fav GF snacks

Today I thought I would share some of our tried and true quick snacks I make for the family.

1- Fluffy Banana Muffins.

IMG_1777

This recipe I got from freerangecookies.com. Often Gluten Free baked goods don’t rise well, that is why we love these muffins. They rise perfectly every time. I love the flavoring of them and texture. I do not seem to ever have one of the spices, “cardamom,” so I googled a substitute for it. The substitute according to foodsubs.com is “Substitutes:  brown cardamom OR equal parts ground nutmeg and cinnamon OR equal parts ground cloves and cinnamon OR nutmeg.” Of course I used my favorite GF flour, Grandpa’s Kitchen. The muffins are perfect for breakfast, snacks, traveling and on-the-go food.

2- Apple Cake.

IMG_1840 (2)

No matter how many times I make this cake, and no mater how many times I share it with others (gluten free and non gluten free people) this cake is a hit. I got the recipe from winndixie.shoptocook.com. The frosting is just as it should be “the icing on the cake.” But really the whole cake is loved by all. Again I used Grandpa’s Kitchen Flour.

3- Granola Bars.

IMG_1720

Since my allergy kid is also allergic to peanuts and tree nuts, most granola and granola bars are out for us. I actually have not found one processed granola bar she can have. So I make them, thanks to Alasakfromscratch.com. I always add a bit more honey so the bars stick to better a bit better, but that is an easy fix. These really are the perfect treat and the kids thank me every time I make them.

These are Kellie Verified all at 5 stars.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten Free Treats of the Week

  1. Very interesting that I have found this post at this time. I just started on a wheat fast since Monday of this week and these recipes come at just the time that I need them. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    You should try and find some cardamom for your muffins! I adore it in baked goods. Your recipes sound delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

