How To Make A T-Shirt Bracelet

How to make a T-Shirt Bracelet

A while back I found a great Pin nearly exactly like this picture.

IMG_1802 (2)

I thought It would be so fun to make with the girls to give as Christmas gifts to friends. I have been saving old clothes they could cut up and bought some little pearl beads. When it came time actually make them last week, the directions did not exist, it was just a picture. So we figured it out for ourselves. It really isn’t hard, but we had a learning curve.

Here is what we used

1- Gather old shirts, dresses, yoga pants, any thin cotton material. The rate my kids grow, it wasn’t hard to collect. In fact I had way to much material to use.

2- Buy pearl beads at the local craft store. I bought the brand In Bloom, they were 8mm Faux Pearl.  I found the center hole I would thread the material through was just perfect for the bracelet, but difficult for the needle. It was a bit difficult to thread. When I went back to the craft store for a pearl with a bigger center, I didn’t find any good ones, so we stayed with the 8mm.

3- I first used a needle with a very large eye, but I found I could not thread the material. So I ran back to the craft store and bought size 20 needle. I bought a pack of 6 so everyone could participate at the same time.

The process

1- We found with the old material, it had to be pretty thin, a normal good sturdy t-shirt did not work, it was too thick to thread through the pearl. But then we tried a dress which Little Me loved to wear but shrunk to fast, we found this thin cotton was too thin and shredded while we threaded the pearls. Eventually the material broke. So we tried a medium thickness cotton and though difficult at first to thread, after the first two pearls the material thinned out, but not too much, and we were able to add several pearls, and the bracelets are so cute. So it is a bit of a test and trial to find the right material and that was a bit annoying. Only my oldest and I persevered to the end.

IMG_1796 (2)        IMG_1784 (2)

2- Cut the material into thin lines, about 17″ long for a child and 24″ for an adult (but I am a super small adult so maybe longer for others). Keep in mind the material stretches as you thread pearls. Use a rotary cutter and mat, that will probably be easier. I don’t have one, only good sewing scissors, so cutting was more time consuming. I recommend rotary cutter if you have one but it’s not necessary.

IMG_1794 (2)       IMG_1801 (2)

3- Thread the material through the needle.

4- Thread the Pearls. The first two or three are a bit difficult, the material thins out as it stretches, and becomes easier to thread. I recommend using more pearls then you think you might like, more is prettier.

IMG_1795 (2)      IMG_1798 (2)

5-Rap it around the wrist several times and tie a knot. I triple knotted ours.

After we got the hang of this I made 11 in 1 hour, but it took about an hour to get the hang of it.

IMG_1789 (2)Too thin of material, you can see it frayed too much while threading pearls

IMG_1804 (2)This material was the right thickness.

I’m not sure how to help you find the right thickness, as all the clothing items just said 100% cotton. But yet they were all very different. It’s trial and error.

This was a fun project to spend time with my girls, but a bit frustrating to figure out how to do this. I hope these instructions help and I would love to see some of your finished products. And if you have any tips when you make them please let me know. Thanks. I think I only spend abut $8 on the whole project and we have 11 friend gifts done. YAH!!!

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Craft projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

