Wands-up, Magical Nature Wand

Magical Nature Wand

What little boy or girl doesn’t like to play imagination, becoming fairies and magicians. To be able to create anything you want is such freedom and child-like. Well, this year for the 2015 PTA Reflections contest the theme is Let Your Imagination Fly, so Little Me wanted to make a wand so her imagination could create anything she wants. We found this cute picture of a wand on pinterest through redtedart.com and it seemed so simple, so we created some wands our self. All the girls wanted to get in on the fun too. It was great to see how their imagination can turn ordinary materials into a beautiful works of art.

The wand is meant to be a Harry Potter Wand, though we love Harry Potter A LOT you can use this wand for anything. Little Me decided to be Hermione Granger for Halloween so she made two wands, (just in case her reflections project wins and she doesn’t get it back).

All you need, according the redtedart is:

  • A Chopstick
  • Hot Glue
  • Nature Item
  • Paints

We happened to have 4 chopsticks so everyone was happy.

IMG_1752 First use your chopstick, and find the nature items (Little me wanted to use a silk flower too, so she did). We have more then enough pine cones and acorns and rocks in the back yard, so the girls went hunting for the perfect item. We found the acorn didn’t glue on very well, so we used pine cones and rocks. We hot glued the item on the stick andwe used A Lot of glue to make sure it stuck. After about 15 mintues they were fully dry. IMG_1759IMG_1753IMG_1757

After they were dry, I held the glue gun and the girls turned their wands around the glue, creating an interesting pattern. They thought the glue itself was quite magical.

IMG_1756IMG_1758

After the glue was totally dry, we painted. I asked the girls if they can all use the same colors of paint or paint we already have to save me some money so they all talked and agreed on which colors to use. We bought some gold acrylic paint for the stick and some spray paint for the tops. We used blue, sparkly teal and we also happened to already have some green so we used that too.

IMG_1760

It took along time for the paint to dry, all of 15-20 minutes (the girls thought that was FOREVER!) After the sticks were dry we stray painted the tops. Here are some of the finished products.

IMG_1768 (2)IMG_1762IMG_1769 (2)

This was such a fun idea and the girls love that their wands look cool. All the girls are spending plenty of time casting all sorts of spells on each other. I’m glad the spells don’t really work.

Thanks for idea redtedart.com. Kellie Verified at 5 Stars

Funny addition: after I finished posting about a magical wand I turned on Sesame Street for the Little Munchkin. The episode is all about magical wands and Harry Potter. I hope Little Munchkin doesn’t think her magical wand will really do magic. But I think a tantrum will happen when the wand does not produce cookies, like it did for Cookie Monster. 

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Craft projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wands-up, Magical Nature Wand

  1. Alisa says:

    I think this looks really fun!

    Like

  2. Abbey says:

    When you make the wands, though, you should probably find a ‘nature item’ that has a flat bottom, like the pinecone or the rock.

    Like

Leave a comment