Spot on Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

Such Wonderful Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

Since going Gluten Free about 4 years ago due to my oldest having a wheat allergy, gluten sensitivity, peanut, all nut and several other random allergies I have searched for the perfect replacement to a traditional breakfast. For the previous 9 years, on the first day of LDS General Conference I would make a very yummy breakfast, something we call sticky buns (kinda the same things a monkey bread but a bit different). I like to mark special days with something fun, and LDS General Conference is a very special day. We look forward to it twice a year and the anticipation is as intense as Christmas.

Well once we could not have Sticky Buns any more this made all of us extremely sad. That first General Conference I attempted to make a Gluten Free version, I bought some bread dough from a local GF bakery – it didn’t turn out. The next few times I do not remember what I made I just knew I didn’t want to make it again. They just didn’t hit the spot. One year my husband even asked if I can just make us sticky buns and something else for Abbey. I think that is a bit rude, so I said no. Then back in April I tried cinnamon rolls, they were ok. I kept searching and searching for a better recipe. I found one on Lauren’s Latest. And wow, it hit the spot!!!!!!!!!!  We will make this again and again. Crazy easy! And I used my trusty Grandpa’s Kitchen Flour. Grandpa's Kitchen GF Flour Blend  Like with all GF recipes, especially breaded items I like to find something simple, I don’t like to use separate flours and blend my own. I just want one flour to do it all, just like before. I will concede that to make actual real white bread I’m going to have to break that need of mine to have only 1 flour.

Just like Lauren says, it only took about 30 minutes to prep and 20 minutes to cook. They were soft and just right. The frosting was a perfect blend of cream cheese frosting. I think that is what really made the difference.

A few things I would note,

  • Add more butter to the filling. It was a bit stiff and didn’t spread to well. Just add enough to your desired consistency. I added about 1T spoon more, I think more would have even been fine. It is a hard texture to find. Other cinnamon rolls I have tried were so runny, the flavor was off and my kitchen was a mess.
  • She noted that Pamela’s flour is the only one that will work, but I used Grandpa’s Kitchen and it worked really well.

Thank you Lauren for coming up with a perfect recipe. I’ll give it 5 stars.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

