Easy, Simple Stain Remover

little grease staina little grease stain

My FAVORITE  shirt!  I love this purple Nike Shirt. What is best about it is that I got it for $4 at the local second hand store.  I wear it at least once a week. Then one day it didn’t come clean. I didn’t even know it had as stain, so I ran it through the wash and dryer like normal, but when I pulled it out of the dryer to hang it up, there was a stain!!!!!!  What was it? I don’t know that I actually know, but I believe it is a grease stain from cooking, that wouldn’t surprise me at all. So the shirt sat that there for a few weeks as I mourned. Then we went camping, so I thought the shirt would be perfect for camping. I don’t need to wear clean clothes camping anyway. So I washed it again. Then I thought I would find some home remedy I could use. I found the perfect one here on Lewisvillelove. This is so simple and it works!!!!

1 part Dawn dish soap, it has to be blue

2 parts Hydrogen Peroxide (I was fresh out of Hydrogen Peroxide so I used Rubbing Alcohol)

Mix it together.  You can either make a lot and put it in a spray bottle or just make a little and dab it on with a cotton ball,Dabbing the stain

which is what I did. I then let is sit for about 1 hour and washed and dried it. You will notice this is the same recipe I used for yellow under arm stains in a previous blog, see here, which I got from Jillee. Since I used rubbing alcohol instead I now know a good substitute, if you are ever out of one thing, you can use another. I have used Hydrogen Peroxide before with stains. So I know both work perfectly. It is always nice to know something else works when you run out of an ingredient.

The stain came out so beautifully and I can wear my favorite shirt again!!!!!! I  am so happy about it. I am starting to wonder if there is anything Blue Dawn Dish Soap cannot do.  I have made bubbles with it (stay tuned for that post), removed stains, I add it to my DIY kitchen cleaner (stay tuned for that recipe), washed hands, washed dishes, etc….. Dawn Dish Soap is amazing stuff.

the stain is gone

This stain remove has now been tested twice, on different stains, and it works!  Kellie Verified, 5 Stars!

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in DIY cleaning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy, Simple Stain Remover

  1. amommasview says:

    Hate when that happens! Great tip!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

