Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream

The perfect blend of vanilla ice cream with chocolate chip cookies.

The perfect blend of vanilla ice cream with Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Who doesn’t love ice cream. I mean come-on. Ice cream is the best most satisfying treat. In fact whenever I am having a bad day, my medicine of choice is ice cream. Honestly it makes me feel better every time. I often ask my husband to go get me a shake or a small 1/2 pint of ice cream when I am down-and-out, and it is a show of love to me when he does. I have recently gotten into making ice cream. A while back when my oldest was diagnosed with her mass list of food allergies she was also lactose intolerant. We either purchased massively too expensive coconut ice cream for her or made the coconut ice cream whenever we wanted ice cream. Buying the ice cream became very expenisve, nearly $7 a pint for the So Delicious, her favorite was the mint chip or the chocolate. We ended up buying a Cuisinart ice cream maker on Amazon. We found making the coconut ice cream was difficult and it was often more like soft serve then hard ice cream. But she still loved it. After about 3 years of staying away from lactose completely she was able to have milk products again.  I was told by a nutritionist that being lactose intolerant was normal for people with sever food allergies, as their stomach can only take so much and can no longer handle lactose, but it can heal. Luckily her healed, but I do wonder if it will come back.

Anyway, now that she can have milk, in moderation again, I am loving making ice cream. One thing, being allergic to wheat, she really misses cookie dough ice cream.  So I had her make cookies from a mix, she made the brand Positively Free (I don’t usually like these cookies as they are not the soft cookies from our past, they are a bit hard and crunchy). Because the cookies are a bit hard, they were perfect for ice cream. I saved about 5 cookies and froze them for future ice cream. When you make this you can use any gluten free chocolate chip cookie recipe, but i recommend a hard crunchy cookie.

When I got around to making the ice cream I used the recipe from Six Sisters Stuff for vanilla ice cream. Oh my! This was the perfect vanilla ice cream! Even Little Me, who hates vanilla loved this ice cream. The recipe is simple and only five ingredients, this is their recipe:

2 C Heavy Cream

2 C Whole Milk

3/4 C Sugar

2 teaspoons Vanilla

Pinch of salt

You will need to visit their site, the link is above, to get the directions.  (I added the chopped up cookies into the ice cream maker, while it was mixing).

This is really the perfect summer treat, or any time of year treat. I am curious to see if this would work with coconut milk. I’ll try it sometime and let you know. My family loved this ice cream so much, better then any other we make in the ice cream maker. We are so doing this again! In fact my kids are asking for it.

This pin (the pin for the vanilla ice cream) is Kellie verified at 5 stars!

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream

  1. Laura says:

    That sounds awesome! I’ve made coconut ice cream too and it’s really not the same thing, is it. I like your theme, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

