Sparkly Fairy Dough

ingredients for Sparkly Fairy Doughmound of Sparkly Fairy Doughafter 30 minutes of playing

What a fun afternoon, and I scored major momma points too.  I got this idea from Paging Fun Mums.  My cute little Munchkin was born at 25 weeks, and was 1lb 10oz. She has come a long way and functions fairly “normal” now, but still lacks in several areas. One of those areas is her hands. She has had two surgeries on her left hand and one more to go. Her right hand is fine other then lack of strength, which makes it hard to use properly. She doesn’t love play dough (and we have a wheat free kid anyway), so I am always on the look out for things she can use to manipulate her hands and get strength in them. This Fairy Dough seemed to hit the mark.

All it takes is three ingredients that I already  had, Bonus!

1 Cup Conditioner (use inexpensive stuff, 1 cup is more then 1/2 the Suave container) Suave is only $2.70 I use Suave everyday and love it – I’m not getting paid to say that I do.

2 Cups Corn Starch

Glitter – as much as you want

Mix it together and play until your heart is content.

At first I was not very pleased, it is very sticky, like sticky bread dough (when we were done it stuck to everything and we had a hard time getting it off). Faith was not going for it either. With a little encouragement she started using both hands, with a bit of hesitation.  She only liked it for about 10 minutes, and I thought, “oh well, we tried, this was dumb.” But then I let it sit on the counter for the afternoon, and waited for my Little Engineer to come home to play with it. I figured I could use it as leverage – if she did her homework, she can play with it. The Leverage worked and she started manipulating the dough. After a while the sticky dough turned soft and smooth, much better and more fun. Munchkin had a friend over and they wanted to play with it too. So I had three kids playing with it for about 45 minutes. In that time, the dough was pliable, like a soft play dough. The shapes didn’t hold form very long, but at least we were able to manipulate it and roll it and get our hands working. A nice bonus is that our hands were very conditioned after. And to my surprise the glitter didn’t end up spreading its love. Usually when you use glitter, the glitter ends up all over your hands or the table or clothes or wherever. But the glitter in the Sparkly Fairy Dough stayed put.

So a bit of advice when you try this, advice I would have appreciated having, is to let the dough sit for a while after mixing it. Let it sit for about 30 minutes. Then Kneed the dough, in a dusting of corn starch, like you would bread dough for about 5 minutes. This will help the dough stick to itself, not you. Looking back at the pictures, I noticed the dough was white at first then turned pink, I guess the more the dough was manipulated it took on the color of the glitter (we used pink glitter).

Have so much fun playing with Sparkly Fairy Dough! Oh and when you are done put it in a Tupperware type container. Its been 1 week and the dough is still soft and usable.

IMG_1577IMG_1579a bit messyIMG_1588Sparkly Fairy Snowman Family

Kellie Verified at 4 stars, only because it would have been helpful to have the advice I gave you.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Playtime and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

