Delightful Watermelon Granita

Scrumptious Watermelon Ganita

Scrumptious Watermelon Ganita

With summer almost over and school has begun for the munchkins, I thought I would spend the week sharing some of our favorites for the summer. First is Watermelon Granita. Little Me is wild about watermelon.  One year for her birthday I even made a watermelon cake for her. So a few weeks ago I found out it was National Watermelon Day. What! There is such a thing! So to celebrate we found this lovely recipe for Watermelon Granita from Martha Stewart on her website.  http://www.marthastewart.com/1047820/watermelon-granita. First off I had never heard the word granita, my English friend explained that granita is like a slushy. Well, we love slushies around here, so this would be the perfect National Watermelon Day delight.  The recipe was so simple and we already owned all the ingredients, BONUS! Three simple ingredients is all it takes, and some patience. All it takes is watermelon, lemon and sugar and time to freeze. We put all the ingredients in the blender and pored it in a glass pie plate then froze it, just like Martha Stewart says. I checked it every few hours, until I went to bed. It took a while for the puree to freeze, so we took it out of the freezer in the morning and enjoyed a lovely scrumptious treat, the day after National Watermelon Day. I used a fork to chop it up, that was easier then I thought.  Then all us girls enjoyed a nice cold slushy-type treat to celebrate National Watermelon Day, which was August 3.

shredding the frozen watermelon

shredding the frozen watermelon

Kellie Verified with 5 stars. Simple, yummy and a fun celebration

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

