Lovin’ the Birds

My 8 year old's bird house

My 8 year old’s bird house

Who doesn’t love to watch the birds come to eat? My 8 year old, (Little me) does. To her delight, she got a bird house for her birthday this past year, and after painting it insisted we feed the birds. First off, if you notice the first picture, the bird hole is tiny.  No bird would be able to get in and out to eat the scrumptious snack we are feeding it. What bird house building company thought of using such a small hole? Being the inventive person I am, we raised the roof allowing the birds to come in and out freely.

Second we searched several blogs for the perfect bird food, and for a recipe that didn’t take too many ingredients I would have to buy.  We settled on this one by HGTV because who doesn’t love HGTV!!!! Here is the link http://www.hgtvgardens.com/diy-garden-projects/natural-handmade-bird-feeders.  After we went to the store, I only had to buy sunflower seeds, we got started.  Oh but wait, I forgot a big orange!  UGH!!!!!!  I only had little Clementines.  So I had to alter the recipe a bit. The recipe calls the pulpy orange innards to be mixed in with the food, then put all the food in the orange and hang the orange. It is really a very cute idea, and so natural. Well, Little me was insistent we put the food in the bird house any way, so I didn’t end up needing to worry about using a large orange. I dug out the Clementine orange and used that instead, it worked like a charm. Little me gathered all the ingredients and mixed it all together. Then because I didn’t want to have the peanut oils soak through the wooden bird house, I lined it with tin foil and put the bird food inside the house.

Bird food

Bird food

Now we can use the bird house again. With in days the food was gone and now we get to make the food again! Little me loves that her food was eaten by the birds and is so excited to make it again. Part of me is hoping the birds actually ate the food, not a squire or a giant sized rodent (that would be scary – the giant sized rodent, not the squirel). We shall certainly try this again and if I get a picture of the animal (hopefully a bird) actually eating the food, I’ll let you know. I do have high hopes the birds actually did eat the food, since we hung the bird house in a huge, extremely large pine tree that houses a variety of birds all year long. You have done it again HGTV!

This is Kellie Verified at  5 stars. I hope you enjoyed this and you will do it too.  Let me know, thanks.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Playtime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

