Mega Sized Tic-Tac-Toe

IMG_1198 IMG_1196Tic-Tac-Toe is usually a small game you play on paper. My kids often play it during church to keep quite. Not his time.  We giant sized our 4th of July back yard party with Mega Tic-Tac-Toe.  I got the idea from http://www.u-createcrafts.com/best-outdoor-games-life-sized-edition/.  The site did not give any direction or how-to’s.  The site referenced http://www.aturtleslifeforme.com/2011/06/wrapping-up-school-year.html. The game is originally played with Frisbee’s but we could not gather enough so we used rocks. Making the sheet/game board was a cinch, just get a sheet and measure your width for each square. It only took my husband and I a few minutes to make. We figured to play it well and right we would need 9 Frisbee’s (just in case you get black out). So we got inventive and used rocks. Each player gathered rocks from the back yard, two different colors (one color for each player). Then we let the game roll.

The game is especially great for younger kids. And as a hint, stake the sheet down into the grass. There is a lot of walking on the sheet to get rocks and such, and the rocks also gathered the material when tossed in the square (I would assume a Frisbee would do the same thing). We were constantly needing to straighten the sheet. However, this game was a  hit. Cousins played it for about 20 minutes and my sister played with my little daughter for a few rounds too.

To make the game a bit more challenging for grown ups, you can use the Frisbee and toss it from a distance to your square. I would recommend getting two different colors of Frisbee’s so you can remember which spot is yours. Aim would be a big deal playing it this way. I am not that great with a Frisbee, but the game would be challenging and fun.

Kellie Verified at 4 star. Easy and fun.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Playtime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

