Kinetic Sand = Happy Kids

IMG_1125IMG_1126

Kinetic sand

Kinetic sand

IMG_1129

My cute little daughter #4, loves to play in sand!  Our trip to the beach this summer confirmed to me that I needed to make Kinetic sand.  I’m not a big fan of sand, and I wanted the sand to be mold-able.  Faith has had several surgeries on her left hand and she needs to learn to use her fingers and her left arm better.  Kinetic Sand could help. There are dozens of Kinetic sand recipes on Pinterest, but I have one daughter that is allergic to wheat and lives a Gluten-Free life, so I could not use most of the ideas.  I found Kinetic Sand from regular play sand bought at Home Depot, here is the recipe I used:  http://livingithaca.com/diy/make-kinetic-sand/.

I bought the 50 pound basic play sand at Home Depot it was around $5.

Teresa says to use 6 cups of cornstarch and 6 cups of water, I used 9 cups and 9 cups.  I felt it molded better.

Teresa updated the blog after I made the sand, and her updates probably work a bit better.  I just dumped everything together and let the kids mix it up. She updated that you should mix the cornstarch and water together first.  I don’t know how that will work, but give it a try.

As you can see I first put the sand mixture in the green tote, but I felt it was too full and would spill easy, so I transferred it to our little boat.  It does go dry after a few weeks, I just add more water.  Teresa says to add more cornstarch too, but I have not had to do that.  Regular sand that is wet does not mold as well, and drys very quickly, with the added cornstarch it stays mold-able for several weeks.

This sand is a big hit with Faith and her friends.  Thanks you Teresa for the idea, and for not using flour.

Kellie Verified at 41/2 stars.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
This entry was posted in Playtime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

