Homemade laundry soap

Laundry detergent on a dime

Laundry detergent for a dime

Homemade laundry soap.

I love how much money I save by using this recipe. I first got the recipe from http://thefrugalgirls.com/2012/09/homemade-laundry-detergent-powder-big-savings.html

I adapted mine a bit for size and I added Clorox bleach because I didn’t feel it was keeping my whites white.

Here is my recipe:

2 Cups Borax

2 Cups Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda

2 Cups Clorox

2 Bars Fels-Naptha

Use 1-2 Tablespoons per load (depending on load size)

We do about 10 loads a week (6 of us live here) and the box lasts about 2 months.

I must say that shredding Fels-Naptha is hard work. I shred it first on the cheese grater then put it in the food processor for a finer shredding. And honestly my husband will grate it when he is around for me since I dislike it so much. It takes a lot of muscle for a long time and I guess I’m a wimp, but I’m really glad my husband does it for me when he is around.

I save so much money doing this. Before I started making my own laundry soap I would need to buy a large Costco-size Tide every 6 weeks, costing around $30 each time. Now for mere pennies I make my own. Every 2 months I buy two new Fels-Naptha bars costing just over $1 each. The boxes of Borax, Washing soda and Clorox last me nearly 1 year each.

The only thing this does not do well is with under arm stains on my husband’s white shirts. He wears white shirts 6 days a week. So I use the recipe below to fix that problem, and it works every time.

http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2011/11/goodbye-to-yellow-armpit-stains.html

Sure, there is a little more effort involved than just using Tide, but I’m saving around $159 per year. And I only have to remove the yellow under arm stains about 2 times per year. Not so bad! I have used this recipe for 3 years now and I don’t think I will ever go back. When I wasn’t using the Clorox in the recipe I did feel like my colors and whites were not lasting as long or staying as bright as I like. So make sure to use the Clorox. Enjoy saving so much money!!!!

Thank you www.thefrugalgirls.com and www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com

Kellie Verified,  4 stars, because I had to alter it a bit, but I love this recipe.

About Kellie & Alicia

I am Kellie. I am a mom of 4 daughters, a creative dance teacher and a pinner. I love to create my Pins and figure out how to make things work. This blog is all about testing out Pins and sharing what I learned in the processes. I am excited about this adventure and I hope you enjoy seeing the interesting stuff that is created. In my spare time I love water skiing, hiking, camping (“glamping” is better), traveling and taking my kids on new adventures. I also love serving in my community and do so with my church, the PTA, and with an organization called Utah Kids Foundation. I love finding new ways to do things and trying them out.
Image | This entry was posted in DIY cleaning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade laundry soap

  1. wonderkitty says:

    Ok, I’ve been making my own soap, almost exactly like this, for a few years now, and I really like it too. But I have never used the Clorox. You recommend it for colors too? Cause I had the same complaint about it not keeping the whites white. I recently tried a new recipe that used Castile Soap, and I think it was a big dud. I will definitely be going back to my original recipe.

    Like

    • Kellie says:

      yes, Clorox is the key. Castile Soap seems to harsh, but the powered clorox has been a wonderful success, and it doesn’t take much to make the difference. Let me know if you like it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Easy, Simple Stain Remover | My Pins in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

